Black coffee & G3. What a way to spend a morning

Today I decided to wake the house up with this:

It just had to be done. Twice, actually (well, OK maybe 3 times). It’s not so sunny today so not feeling wildly motivated to get up and leap about the place so I thought a bit of musical assistance was called for. This certainly did the trick. I played the rest of the concert too but My Guitar Wants to Kill Your Mama, really gets me moving of a morning.

Homework wise, I still have lots of Eric to learn and also, a bit of back treading and using Evil Eye – Yngwie Malmsteen, as a speed exercise.
Definitely getting faster. Chatting with another guitarist, online, he said that he was using a metronome to give a beat to pick to. He, like me, said that he learned a run, a few notes at a time to memorise but then found himself putting pauses in where there wasn’t one, as that’s the way he’s learned it. Section by section. I tend to do this and have the same problem with tiny pauses between the sections that I’ve learned so it all sounds really choppy. The first run in Cliffs of Dover, I have been playing in 3 parts, with tiny pauses between and it sounds horrible beyond belief. I’ve played it slowly, with the metronome at 90bpm so it’s much smoother now, so now speeding up and up. Same with the Evil Eye bit.

Not totally sure what Leigh would think of this. I guess that he’ll know when he reads it, but it’s helping me speed things up and lose the horrible pauses. I am having a lot of fun with it. I’ve been working on rhythmn generally for a couple of days. I don’t think that I am improving at all but Leigh does, which is the main thing, I guess.

This week is quite quiet, work wise, so I am going to try and knuckle down and get more practice in. I hope to get a good 3 half an hour’s practices in a day this week. I have a database to finish for Norwich Guitar Academy, but my internet has got a bit on and offy. Waiting for a new hub thing as they think that the one they supplied is faulty. You are telling me! My internet is up and down like a yoyo. Not helpful at all.

Breakfast is calling now, so I shall clear off and then back to my guitar after.

Leave a Reply

